Run, run, run, run, run

If you follow me on any form of social media you might have got the inclination that I love running.

I didn’t love it a year ago – in fact it felt like a chore – but, after I finished the GNR I didn’t stop, I’ve really grown to love it.

Running has become my me-time, my time to think, explore and, as a girl who was rubbish at nearly every sport at school, it’s something  I’m good at.

I mean, I’m no Jessica Ennis-Hill, but from a chubby girl who couldn’t run a mile in under 15 minutes to a physically fitter woman who’s best mile is 7:37 – I’m pretty damn proud.

After, nearly, every run or work out I post a selfie on social media – this started as a way to document my training for the GNR, but it’s become a habit. It’s something I do because I’m proud just to have stepped out the house and completed that run and now I document my pride.

If you’d told me two years ago this is what I’d be doing I’d have laughed so bloody hard.

 

Now I’ve become one of those kind of runners – the ones who buy running magazine, the ones who talk about their PBs and get excited sports bras and running trainers go on sale.

I’ve even gone and entered the blooming London Marathon!

(The frightening thought is: if I get picked I’m going to have to bloody do it.)

This may not be major to some people, but two years ago I got out of breath walking too fast so to me it is major.

My preferred time of day is getting up early and running before work -it really sets me up for the day. One day someone commented on my early morning run photos: I wish I had the motivation to do that.

I didn’t really have an answer for her – I just did it. I mean, I didn’t start by running 5k’s everyday, just a run around the block and so on.

I suppose my motivation was my own inner voice. I was so sick of myself whinging about my weight that I thought ‘do something then’ and I did.

I can see why people lose motivation too – because they focus on their weight. Mine dwindled at times because I maybe hadn’t lost any weight from running that week. But I then started to focus on my distance and time. I noticed myself getting quicker, stopping less, running for longer – running then became my motivation and my weight dropped with my time.

I look back at my fitness journey and thank myself that I decided to stop whinging and get off my arse and do something.

Running didn’t just make me fitter, but it made me a better professional person. Because I’m happier in my own skin I’m more confident, in all aspects of my life – including work and journalism.

Progress looks

There’s no tricks, no quick fix, but there is a better outcome – I didn’t just lose weight, I found something I love doing.

Now I’m training for another half-marathon, the Great Cumbria Run, (and maybe even the London marathon – fingers crossed), but, unlike other sponsored runs, I’m doing this for me, to celebrate me and everything I have been through and everything I’ve carried on running past.

So put on your trainers and lets run, run, run, run, run!

#ThisGirlCanRun!

Leave a Reply

