A journey to the Press Awards

You may have already read in a previous post that I was shortlisted for the Georgina Henry Prize for Innovation for my work on the Egremont 2Day (the newspaper I am the editor for). Well, for the prize I found out the award was being announced at the National UK Press Awards in London-  which is basically like the journalism equivalent of the Oscars!

So on Monday night we got the night bus to London – which made me feel significantly like Harry Potter when he got the night bus, except the only magical thing on my bus was there was no heavy snorers, the guy behind me stopped kicking me rather quickly and I got a solid six hours sleep.

We arrived, I got a new dress then, after an impromptu nap, we, Robert and I, headed to the awards which was being held at the London Hilton on Park Lane(!!). This was major to me because the closest I’d ever got to going to a building on Park Lane was landing on it during a game of monopoly.

Upon arrival I had my make up done by a YSL make up team – which made doing my own make up the next day feel more a chore than its usual delight, first world problems I know right!

The event was truly amazing so many truly talented journalists, photographers, cartoonists and newspaper went home with 30 of the 31 awards that night.

London 6
Squad goals: me and the shortlisted girls. Amzing ladies that will go far and me on the big screen.

As for the award I was up for, well, I didn’t win. But, I said from the beginning that, to me, it wasn’t about winning. Just being shortlisted meant the hard work I’d put in and the hard work of the Egremont 2Day team had been nationally recognised nationally and just to have my work and the E2D newspaper talked about by the top dogs in journalism and put on the a cinema-sized scree, read out by Nick Ferrari meant I felt like a winner – even without the award.

Though the amazing food, Easter egg from Hotel Chocolat and free wine and champers sure did soften any blow!London 2The next day to celebrate my success of getting London (and cure the minor hangovers we had) Robert and I then did the touristy thing of going to sight seeing.

London 5
L-R: at the Marble Arch, outside Selfridges and both of us at Lola’s Cupcakes – nomnom

We went to Selfridges for brunch (and to get my name on a nutella jar!!!), took a selfie at the Marble Arch, took some selfies in Hyde Park, took some pics (and far too many selfies) at the V & A museum then went for some GF pizza before we headed home.London 3

London 4
SOoooo many selfies and an amazing day eating food and being touristy. 

It was a fantastic few days and I’ve made some amazing contacts at the event and met some incredible people.

Ciao for now,
Rachael
x

Leave a Reply

