Drinking on a work night

I went to see a comedian the other night and he said he hand drunk alcohol in a while because the last time he did he woke up with one sock on and covered in quavers… I know we’ve all been there, but it just reminded me of my recent drinking fail that came about because I actually decided to go sober after Christmas.

Most people would say they need to drink less, but, since a recent night reporting on a gig, I think I need to have more glasses of vino in the week.

After Christmas I went on a bit of a health kick because the frequent tests I was having done on my tumor meant I couldn’t drink and so I’d been sticking to OJ or the good ol’ Diet Coke on a night out.

A few weeks ago I went to review my friends band for the paper and as my tests were all done I thought nothing of ordering a glass of wine at the bar as I would’ve at any event with a bar in the past and normally s glass of two wouldn’t phase me when reviewing.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

A glass and a half in and my mind felt as though I’d been doing vodka shots along side strong cocktails with my besties. I was merry to say the least. What was worse, I was merry (verging on drunk) meant to be working and it was a Sunday night!

I’ve never got drunk at an event I was reporting on, it’s so highly unprofessional.

I did two and a half months of sobriety and I seemed to have reverted to my 16 year old self who can’t handle her alcopops

Ultimately, I was so embarrassed.

Still sober enough to realsie when to switch to diet coke.

My body had got so used to not drinking that two glasses of wine meant I was ready to go home.

I also feel like I forgot the basic rules of having a drunk at a work event: pace yourself and drink plenty of water inbetween. What a knob, I know!

In my defence I was rather composed and remained sober enough to realise I was getting drunk that I could switch to Coke and in the morning I was lucky I could remember it all crystal clear and my shorthand was all legible. Also,thankfully, I wasn’t at the drunk stage I was giving the entire pub a table dance.

I didn’t learn any valuable life lessons from this, in honesty but I have decided with a lot of events coming up it’s probably best to crack open a bottle (or two) mid week in preparation – I know what an excuse to drink, well it’s that or spend an evening being asked if I’m pregnant all night again because I’m only ordering juice and Coke!

One thought on “Drinking on a work night

Leave a Reply

