10 times it’s just ‘ok’ in your 20’s

Being a teenager feels like a million years ago, like a completely different time. Because, in a way, I suppose it is. But a dreadful thought is also, as facebook  keeps reminding me with them bloody ‘it’s ___fridays until Christmas’, it’s drawing nearer to to December, when my birthday is and I will be another year into my 20’s – which isn’t as scary a thought as I type this as it had been in previous months.

In fact I remember turning 21 and panicking ‘this is it – I’m no longer too young for anything’ and it turns out I’m not the only one. I’ve had a few friends that feel like being in your 20’s is quite a no-man’s land time. It’s a decade where you truly begin to grow up, but also find that you keep hold of your youth – a very confusing time. This had me thinking ‘is it ok to do/be like this in your 20’s?’

So lift a cocktail and say 'it's ok' in your twenties!
So lift a cocktail and say ‘it’s ok’ in your twenties!

And I decided ‘Yes!’ and came up with ten times we can say ‘It’s ok’ in your 20’s.

It’s ok…

  1. to have two jobs:
    Mortgages are expensive, believe me. In fact so many things are after getting used to the days where you’d get money every fews months at uni. So don’t be embarrassed, just think of the ultimate goal.
  2. to have moments when you feel old:
    I don’t only work with people younger than me, but I volunteer for a charity that works with teens age 16-18. Even though they’re not terribly younger than me, the moments they have no idea what pop idol or Spice Girls are truly daunts on me, when TFI Fridays came back they had no idea and the fact do not understand the Abfab memes you post is at times horrific, but remember you are not old and you may have friends in their 30’s+ now who will not find it acceptable to call yourself such!
  3. to be confused about people’s expectations of you:
    I’m in my twenties and engaged, but sometimes when I tell people they’re like ‘oh you shouldn’t be settling down at your age’ then sometimes when I’m ridiculously hungover after a mega night out can get ‘you’re not a uni anymore, maybe you shouldn’t be doing that anymore’ (in my defense it is rare I got out!) but I’m left with a feeling of sheer confusion at what society thinks I should be like in my 20’s – see complete no man’s land! There’s no right or wrong answer here, I’ve decided that I’m not old and if I want to go out I can, but I’m also not a child so if I want to settle down I can – best of both worlds please!
  4. to not be where you’d thought you’d be by now:
    Ask me where I’d be at my age, when I was 14, I would have said living in LA, money in abundance, married to Orlando Bloom (but I was nice enough to let Miranda Kerr have him), an Oscar (or two) under my belt and have a best selling book and album – all completely realistic if you ask me. But, as we grow what and where we want to be does. I don’t want this life anymore, but I’m not unhappy with where I am, but if you are, don’t fret, you’re still young – keep focus and go for it.
  5. to not be able to handle your drink anymore:
    Whether you went to uni or not, you like spent from the age of 16/17 + drinking at 6th form parties, freshers, work-do’s, your 18th,themed nights out at uni for three+ years – it’s a lot of intense drinking in short. So if your hangovers don’t fade by Sunday afternoon, fear not, you are not alone!
  6. to not have a steady boyfriend:
    Carrie Bradshaw didn’t get married until her forties! Ok, she’s no role model, but if you want to settle down, go for it, if you want to have a string of boyfriends, go for it, you want a ton of one night stands go for it, you want to be a single free person, go for it. You’re in your twenties, the world of sex and love is your oyster.
  7. to still live with your parents:
    This could come down to expenses, being ready, or any other reason really. Sometimes it’s a pain, but contrary to some books we read not all 20-something-year-olds are living it up in owned city flats. Fear not you are not alone.
  8. you’re not doing what your degree was in:
    Let’s be honest chances are the moment your graduate you won’t automatically get a job in your chosen degree. It may have been that your degree was just a first step in your career or you may do a complete u-turn. It’s ok, because you’ve got plenty of time to work it out.
  9. to be where you want to be:
    Some people know where they want to be and some, are exactly where they want to be – and just because there’s a confused bunch out there, it’s ok to be happy!
  10. to feel a little lost:
    Being in your twenties is not a crystal clear time, whatever point you are in your life you may just feel a little lost in general. I know I do at times, in fact at times I end up in a stress induced panic attack, and I know what I’ll be doing for at least the next six months! I’ve been assured it’s normal and frankly – it’s just ok.

So these are the ten prominent things I’ve worked out are ‘ok’ to be or do in your 20’s. This is a time you discover yourself and live. Enjoy your twenties, as scary as being in the real world is!

Leave a Reply

