Cause, baby, you’re a firework so Shake it off and shine.

If feel-good ‘be your awesome-self’ posts aren’t your thing, I won’t blame you giving this one a miss, because they aren’t usually mine, but I’ve had a bit of inspiration with this firework filled night!

Katy Perry said we could wow people like fireworks, Taylor Swift taught us to shake off all the ‘haters’ and Take That told us we could shine, now I wouldn’t call either of these my idols or people I aspire to be, however when

Katy Perry sang:
Cause, baby, you’re a firework. Come on, show ’em what you’re worth. Make ’em go, “Aah, aah, aah

and Taylor Swift rhymed:
“‘Cause the players gonna play, play, play, play, play. And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate. Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake. I shake it off, I shake it off

Along with Take That telling us to:
See the light on your face, Let it shine, Just let it shine, Let it shine.”

Well you can’t help but go ‘yeah I totally get it!’ or at least that’s what I did. I started kind of thinking like this because of my Mam, because she loved any song that had some strong self-empowering-feel-good undertones to them. Now I’ve always been a bit of a muso, so when I listen to song lyrics that make me feel like this, I love it!

In life we go through a lot of moments where frankly, you do feel buried under and like those ‘haters’ (sorry, I cannot say that word without inverted commas, it pains me that spell check doesn’t kick it up!) are just getting right on top of you.

Without my Mam, I feel like these most of the time, especially in tricky situations, like Christmas, holidays, birthdays etc, those moments you expect your Mam to be there.
When I was being bullied by my chappy’s ex and her friends back in 2012, I had my Mam there supporting me the whole time; but recently when I’ve had a snide comment, run-in or right counting-cows moment (at a work event!), though I’ve had my chap and my family, I’ve been without her, so I’ve had to power through myself and it’s these songs that I pop in my ears, see me through as they ring in to my brain, getting those lyrics to give me the strength I need to ignore the bitchiness, or the harder times.

Now, I’m no woman-power girl, or someone who’s going to shout inspirational quotes from the rooftops about friendship, life, love etc, because they bore me. But I will admit, that a feel-good song, can get me dancing around my livingroom, in my undies like a loon feeling like a million pound, no matter what because that’s a lesson my Mam taught me, ‘music can speak to your subconscious’ it can change your entire mood, if you embrace it, like you embrace your inner child when you’ve got a sparkler in your hand on bonfire night!

So baby I’m a firework and I’m just gonna shake it off and let it shine!

Sometimes you've just got to listen to a feel good song, grab a sparkler and go for it! (Photo's copyright of RobertHaile Photography)
Sometimes you’ve just got to listen to a feel good song, grab a sparkler and go for it!
(Photo’s copyright of RobertHaile Photography)
Leave a Reply

