A Northerner’s tale…

After some life changing events this year I decided I wanted to put pen to paper – or fingers to keyboard – about my life in this scary adult world!

Pits to Pots is all about my life which flashed between the beautiful lake district Cumbrian mining area and the city life of the potteries in Stoke-on-Trent – two places where. more recently, I’ve been splitting my time.

Why I’m talking about a scary adult world is because along with finishing my degree and thinking about real jobs ect. I’ve spent the past four-plus months being an au pair and running a household in Cumbria along with trying to plan a wedding and trying to spend as much time as I can with my lovely Fiancé. During all this I’ve become a journalist for a local paper and a contributor for another – all along with fitting in working at a school and doing school runs for the little boy I look after.

Until I was 17 my career choice was to become a serious actor. I used to get up at 4am to go to serious auditions – my main claim to fame is that I was on a Johnsons baby bath advert, an extra in Waterloo Road and Skins. Not that I lost a passion for acting, I love it, but I started discovering other skills – theatre history, writing, teaching, journalism – all things that I’ve always loved, but rarely pursued the idea of because I was so obsessed with becoming an actor… So with time to think I realised I didn’t want to be just one thing; I want to do all of them; Journalism, Writing, Teaching, Drama, Theatre History, the lot! – I know people often think think this is a cop-out not just choosing a life plan, I often used to think this myself, I always had a plan, but my life changing events meant that I realised life can be too short and too boring if you just pick one thing – or at least for me…

So this is the ramblings, scattered thoughts, witterings and life of a twentysomething writer/journalist/actor/teacher/dramaturgist with a lot to say….

2 thoughts on “A Northerner’s tale…

  1. Always pursue your dreams. ALWAYS.
    In the end, when all is said and done, you’ll be the one who is where she wants to be. Never doubt yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

